Chinese Mochi (Muah Chee)

Chinese Mochi (Muah Chee)

ED: Recipe passed down from my great grandma! I’m gonna share this secret since someone actually asked for it. Cause it’ll be such a pity if this recipe dies.. With me. (touch wood) Well the secret isn’t really in the recipe. Cause it has only has a handful of ingredients! The secret lies in the technique. Before you begin, put on a white t shirt and tie a white cloth around your forehead. (to get you ready for a vigorous workout, and just to look like a pro)

Sorry I can’t give an exact amount, cause I don’t know it I swear! You have to estimate the amount of water to add into the flour. Which I’ll explain in more detail later on.

Ingredients (serves 5-7 people)

Muah chee dough

  • 500g Glutinous rice flour
  • Room temperature water
  • A medium sized pot filled with water
  • Fried shallot & oil

Peanut mix

  • 2 cups unsalted peanuts
  • 1 cup white sesame seeds (black sesame seeds optional)
  • White sugar
  1. Toast peanuts on a pan till golden and fragrant but not dark in colour, do the same for the sesame seeds. Pound them till it becomes fine but not powdery. Mix with sugar till you achieve your desired sweetness.
  2. Bring pot of water to boil. Add flour into a large steel mixing bowl, little by little add water while mixing till it forms a dough. (the dough should still be moist, but not wet)
  3. Once water is boiling, pinch a portion of dough about the size of a ping pong ball and flatten it before dropping it into the pot. (that allows it to cook faster) Continue with the rest of the dough.
  4. Once the dough floats its ready, scoop them out with a spatula with holes to drain excess water and place them into the steel mixing bowl. Now for the tiring part.
  5. Using a something like a large wooden rolling pin, pound the dough till it all combines together. (Its gonna be tiring but trust me, you’ll soon reap your reward) Once its all combined together add shallot oil and a little fried shallots over the pounded dough.
  6. Cut up the dough to tiny bit sizes and coat them in a plate of peanut mix.

5 thoughts on “Chinese Mochi (Muah Chee)

  1. Omg I’ve been looking for this for so long! Could you please post the recipe up? It’d be great if you could, a million thanks in advance!

    • Really??hahah I would gladly it’s such a traditional recipe from my family! It’s gonna die out soon if I don’t teach our generation haha I’ll post it by Thursday k I’m busy..thanks for patience!but I assure you it’s good

  2. I’m a huge sucker for glutinous stuff haha. Sure sure, Thursday’s good. I’ll look forward to it. Thank you so much!! ^_^

Leave a Reply

